It’s always seemed foreign to me to have friends that still have friends and hang around with people that they graduated from high school with.  But, when you live in small towns that seems to be the way of life.  Folks don’t move very far and those connections are still intact.  As I’ve gotten older and I’ve seen how our kids have stayed in touch with their high school and college friends I’ve felt this little bit of a void that I’ve not had that privilege to be able to do that.  It is a little more difficult when you’ve gone to a school of about 3000 kids and my class alone had 800+ in it.  Well I must say that first of all thanks to facebook I’ve actually been able to connect with people that I graduated from high school with.  It’s always interesting to see pictures of people that you haven’t seen for 40 years!  Second, thanks to the wonders of google and e-mail I’ve connected with several other friends, one being a guy that was new to my school when I was in 5th grade.  We soon became close friends, were pretty much inseparable all the way through high school, despite the fact that we went to different schools after junior high.  I always looked forward to that Parma/Normandy football game when we alternated year after year searching for each other in the stands just to say hi.  Last, but not least, thanks to the continued contact between my folks and some very dear neighbors that moved away shortly after I graduated, I’ve now connected back up with one of my best girlfriends that I grew up with.  Jan and I went all through school together, starting in Kindergarten.  We played together constantly as we grew up, graduated together and then as we both went to different colleges and moved away we lost contact with each other.  Funny thing is that we’ve always lived somewhat close by, but never had the chance to re-connect.  Busy lives, careers, and all those other life things tend to get in the way.  I come to find out now through a letter sent to my mom that she and her husband and her mom live only 45 minutes away from us.  I am so excited!  We are getting together on Friday night for dinner.  I’ve been up in the attic searching for old pictures of us that won’t be too embarrasing, but as Jan said- that’s half the fun of it.  We hope that we don’t bore the guys with our catching up on Friday night.  Best I can figure we haven’t seen each other for maybe about 35 years!  Wow.

