You are the salt of the earth. But what good is salt if it has lost its flavor? Can you make it salty again? It will be thrown out and trampled underfoot as worthless.  You are the light of the world—like a city on a hilltop that cannot be hidden.                                                                                       Matt 5:13-14

This past Sunday our sermon was about being salt and light.  I’ve read this passage many times and have heard sermons preached on it numerous times, not only by my own pastor but by many others as well.  But, for some reason this week it really hit home.  I’m not sure why but it did.  What does it mean to be salt and light?  Let’s say you’ve got a lamp.  Maybe it’s one that goes on the wall above your bed to illuminate your nighttime reading.  Maybe it’s one that is just a small lamp on a counter to welcome you home to a softly lit home rather than the darkness.  Maybe it’s an outdoor motion light to scare away intruders or stray animal.  But, no matter where you have that lamp or light, if the bulb isn’t working the lamp is useless.  That’s how we are as well.  I know so many of us think that we have to do great things and be some big bright star in order to be significant.  I myself suffer from feeling very insignificant sometimes.  I’ve not ever done anything really stellar or earth shattering.  I’ve often wondered and still do if I’ve been a mom/wife/daughter/mom-in law/friend/pastor’s wife/church person that has made an impact on someones life?  But, we’ve been given a gift to use in our environment in which we live.  We need to challenge ourselves to make sure that we aren’t ignoring that gift but using it and sharing it with others.  It may not be anything huge but maybe just a touch, a smile, a kind word.  We need to use our gift and proclaim as best as we can.

My pastor is the most amazing preacher and always manages to hit home with his sermon.  Yes, he is my husband and I may be a bit partial, but when it comes to Sunday morning and he steps in that pulpit he is my pastor and is preaching to me just as much as he is preaching to the rest of the congregation and as usual this past Sunday he has given me food for thought.  I’m not trying to shamelessly promote him, but I really do feel that I need to share this message with everyone.  So, if you’d like to hear the rest of the sermon……

