This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It’s been a week since we’ve returned from our trip to Haiti.  A week of reflecting back, processing and talking about what we’ve seen, heard, learned and done.  A week is only the beginning of understanding what this all means.  Things fall into place little by little as God reveals why we were there.  I know I’ll have much more to share as time goes on, but here’s just a small bit.

Saturday night, actually early Sunday morning, I woke up about 3 and couldn’t go back to sleep.  I knew there was a reason why God woke me at that time so I laid there listening.  The annoying roosters surrounding the Guest House compound crowing in the 360 morning vocal exercises, the cats meowing, a puppy crying, the hum of the air conditioner in our room, the crickets and other sounds of the night filled my ears.  Images of the children of the orphanage playing, hugging and loving us, and their voices singing “Lean On Me” filled my mind.  I couldn’t get it to go away so I just let go and let God continue to fill my ears and mind.  I eventually fell asleep.  Sunday morning prior to breakfast as we sat together chatting Psalm 41:1 came into my mind.  Having no idea what Psalm 41:1 is I quickly looked it up and read verses 1-3

1 Blessed are those who have regard for the weak;
the Lord delivers them in times of trouble.

2 The Lord protects and preserves them—
they are counted among the blessed in the land—
he does not give them over to the desire of their foes.

3 The Lord sustains them on their sickbed
and restores them from their bed of illness.

I love it when God places a scripture in front of us and slowly reveals His plan.  But, it wasn’t until this morning that I fully realized just why this might have been placed in front of me.  That afternoon after worship we toured Port-Au-Prince.  Images of tent cities, poverty, pockets of beautiful homes and parks- evidence of a once thriving city, the busyness of people moving through the city, street vendors, people laughing, music, people smiling, motorcycles and cars everywhere, the mountains in the background, and people with a sadness and look of desperation and resolve in their eyes.  Images that I just can’t seem to get out of my mind.  I wanted to get out of the truck, grab a shovel and help to clean up the rubble, the garbage, learn about the people, & listen to them.  I wanted to somehow give them hope.  But, for now our mission is with the children of the orphanage and we are ever grateful and thankful for Faith Missions International that they have given these children a safe, clean and healthy place to live. A place where they find love, are learning English, play their hearts out, are musically, artistically and athletically talented, are able to go to school.  Some have dreams of becoming doctors, nurses, teachers, preachers.  They love to sing, they are passionate about worship and they aren’t afraid to show their love for Jesus. They have beds to sleep in, food to eat, clothing to wear and a whole host of adopted Mommy’s and Papa’s from all over the U.S.  They are the blessed ones and they have blessed us.

And what was God’s message to me that night as I lay awake listening to the sounds of Haiti, seeing the children all standing together and singing?  I know He was showing me the blessings that have been given to me in just a couple of days through the children and the people that we’ve come to know and love.  But, in a way I  think He was also preparing me for the tour that day, reminding me that despite all the devastation and despair still so evident it is a beautiful country, filled with beautiful people and there is hope for them.  They are a blessed people, the sounds of their country are no different than the sounds of our country.  Please don’t forget them.

